Sophie Gustafson

The Evian Championship is set to play host to the world’s 120 top women golfers from 12 to 15 September, at the brand new Evian Resort Golf Club course. It’s a dream line-up with world number one Inbee Park and all of the members of the European and US Solheim Cup teams. And to complete the elite field at this season’s final Major, the Board has announced the names of the last two wildcards.

Keeping faith with the players who have contributed so much to the tournament’s illustrious history whilst looking firmly to the future, the Board of The Evian Championship has awarded the two remaining wildcards to:

Sophie Gustafson (Swe), one of the greats of women’s golf and a fixture in the Solheim Cup team between 1998 and 2011,  now back in Europe, she finished 2nd at the 2009 Evian Masters following a magnificent play-off against Ai Miyazato

Joanna Klatten (Fra), who has earned deserved recognition for her fine performances this season, and is the 3rd highest-ranked Frenchwoman in the World Rolex Rankings. She joins compatriots Karine Icher and Gwladys Nocera, who have already been selected for The Evian Championship.

The Evian Championship is also the only and the final tournament to feature the two big teams from the Solheim Cup. With Anna Nordqvist, Charley Hull, Azahara Munoz, Carlota Ciganda, Caroline Hedwall, Catriona Matthew, Suzann Pettersen, Giulia Sergas, Caroline Masson, Jodi Ewart, Beatriz Recari and Karine Icher, every member of the victorious European team led by Liselotte Neumann will be taking part at Evian. It’s a similar story for the USA, with Meg Mallon’s full team set to line up at The Evian Championship: Stacy Lewis, world n°2 and winner of the Women’s British Open 2013, Paula Creamer, Britanny  Lang, Morgan Pressel, Michelle Wie, Gerina  Piller, Lizette Salas, Jessica Korda, Lexi Thompson, Britanny Lincicome, Angela Stanford and Cristie Kerr.

Sunday 8 September the field will be completed, with the winner of the Helsingborg Open on the LET securing a spot at Evian.