Chief Referee Marc Vande Broek explains the situation with Cristie Kerr to European Captain Alison Nicholas on the first tee

Cristie Kerr was forced to pull out of the singles ahead of her match against England’s Karen Stupples after suffering from a wrist injury.

Under the terms of the Captain’s Agreement signed by both Alison Nicholas and Rosie Jones it meant that the American team conceded the match and forfeited the point to the European team.

Kerr’s withdrawal means that as of 12.05 (BST) Europe had a 9-8 lead over the Americans and required a further 5 ½ points to win the contest.

The American was clearly in pain as she attempted to warm up prior to her match against Stupples and was in tears as she was driven away for treatment.

“I’m devastated that I couldn’t play today to help represent my team,” she said. “I tried my best but I couldn’t hold the golf club.”

Jones admitted that US officials were concerned about the injury since Friday.

“We have been worried about her playing since Friday,” confirmed the US Captain. “She started anti-inflammatories on Friday night and she felt better. I checked her every day to see if she could go.

“The wrist is just fatigue and is too painful. She couldn’t pick up a club,” Jones added. “It started Thursday and was concerned after the opening ceremony. We considered a change Friday morning but she was fine then.”

European Captain extended her sympathy to Kerr but said there was a clear procedure in place to deal with such an eventuality.

“It’s devastating for both Cristie and Karen,” she said. “I had no idea that Cristie was injured so obviously I’m sorry for her.

“It’s just one of those things,” she added. It’s in the Captain’s Agreement and we’ve signed it so there’s nothing we can do.

Stupples admitted she was surprised to learn her opponent could not compete in the singles.

“I had an inkling on the (practice) putting green because her caddie came over and said ‘I’m sorry.’”

“I’m gutted for her and I’m gutted for me because I think we would have had a fantastic game. I was ready to play and, if she hadn’t been injured, I know she would have given it a good crack, too. I’m gutted, really, but that’s how it is.”

Shortly afterwards at 12:27 play was suspended for approximately half an hour due to flooded greens. Play was suspended for a second time at 13:24 due to a water logged course.