The Ladies European Tour would like to congratulate the victorious 2013 European Solheim Cup Captain Liselotte Neumann for her nomination as Leader of the Year in the Swedish Sports Awards (Idrottsgalan).

Although Liselotte Neumann lost out to winner Pär Mårts (national ice hockey coach), her nomination was recognition of her enormous contribution both at The 2013 Solheim Cup, when Europe won for the first time on U.S. soil by a record margin of victory at 18-10, and as a role model for golfers in Sweden and throughout the world since her U.S. Open victory in 1988.

Also nominated were Arnold Monsen (national cross country skiing leader) and Pia Sundhage (national football coach).

Swedish golfer Henrik Stenson won the prestigious Jerringpriset, for the most successful sports person of the year 2013 as voted for by the Swedish public.

He also won the Male Athlete of the Year Award, after he scored a historic double last year by winning both the Race to Dubai on the European Tour and Fedex Cup on the PGA Tour.