Anna Nordvist (left) leading amateur at the 2008 RICOH Women’s British Open

Overall, England is represented by the most players (20) followed by Sweden (15), France (11), Scotland (10), Australia and Finland (8 each), Denmark, Spain and Wales (6 each), Italy (5), Ireland, the Netherlands, Switzerland (4 each), USA and South Africa (3 each), Belgium, Germany, Japan, Korea, and Russia (2), Austria, Estonia, Argentina, Canada, Czech Republic, Hungary, India, Norway, Malaysia, Paraguay, Portugal and Slovakia (1).

A total of 105 players representing 32 different countries will contest Stage I, Pre-Qualifying, over four rounds from Wednesday 7th – Saturday 10th January.

The leading 62 players from Stage I will join 28 others who are already exempt to make a field of 90 players and ties at Stage II, Final Qualifying, which will be played on the south course from Monday 12th – Thursday 15th January.

All competitors at the final stage will play three rounds following which a cut will be made to the leading 50 players and those tied for 50th place.

At the conclusion of 72 holes, all players will be ranked according to score, with the leading 30 players awarded category 8a, which offers the opportunity to play in most tournaments. Positions 31-50 and ties will be offered category 10b, which offers limited opportunities to play in LET events.