The first four of this year’s female Major Champions: Lydia Ko (ANA Inspiration), Brooke Henderson (KPMG Women’s PGA Championship), Brittany Lang (US Women’s Open) and Ariya Jutanugarn (Ricoh Women’s British Open) attended the Rolex Annika Major Award ceremony in the Grange du Lac at the Hotel Royale on Saturday evening where they were recognised for their performances and consistency in the Majors. This is third year of Annika’s award, which has been won by Michelle Wie and Inbee Park in 2014 and 2015 respectively. Former world number one Annika, a 10-time Major champion and Halls of Fame Member, was joined by former tennis world number one and seven-time Grand Slam winner Justine Henin, who talked about the demands of playing in a Major. Going into the final round of the Evian Championship, world number one Lydia Ko was leading over world number two Ariya Jutanugarn, who needed a top five finish or better to leapfrog Ko.

At the same ceremony, Henderson, 18, from Canada, was named as the 2016 Evian Championship ambassador and was selected because she projects the tournament’s values.