From left: Meg Mallon and Beth Daniel celebrate with Nicole Castrale after securing The 2007 Solheim Cup for the USA in Halmstad, Sweden.

Davies, who is ranked first on the Ladies European Tour’s New Star Money List, secured her 72nd career victory at the Women’s Australian Open in February and is a four-time major champion. Hall brings four LET titles into the equation. Together the English pair will defend the trophy won by Trish Johnson and Rebecca Hudson at the inaugural event on the same golf course last year.

The American duo will visit Spain for the first time after they were invited by Marta Figueras Dotti, the Spanish National Team Coach and a former tour player. Mallon enthused: “We are both very excited about the opportunity to play in Spain. Marta Figueras Dotti is a friend of ours and told us it’s a great tournament with a very nice hotel so we’re excited to be coming.” She added that they hoped to travel in Spain following the tournament, taking in the cities of Barcelona and Madrid.

Spain will once again be represented by the 2002 European number one Paula Marti and Tania Elosegui, who finished second at the recent Australian Open. Last year’s LET Player of the Year Gwladys Nocera and Anne-Lise Caudal have confirmed their participation for France.

Belgium’s Lara Tadiotto and Ellen Smets will return after finishing equal second at last year’s event with Germany. Martina Eberl, partnered by Anja Monke last year, will represent Germany with Denise Charlotte Becker, who is one of the LET’s most promising talents.

Played over four days, the €325,000 Comunitat Valenciana European Nations Cup will comprise two rounds of fourball play and two days of “Valencian Cup”, which is a version of the Greensome format. The winning team will take home €77,000, or €38,500 per player. Valencian Community Investments (VCI) continues as the tournament’s title sponsor for the second consecutive year.

2009 Field (confirmed to date):


Austria: Nicole Gergely and Eva Steinberger
Belgium: Ellen Smets and Lara Tadiotto
China: TBC
Denmark: Lisa Holm Sorensen and Iben Tinning
England: Laura Davies and Lisa Hall
Spain: Tania Elosegui and Paula Marti
Finland: Kaisa Ruuttila and Ursula Wikstrom
France: Gwladys Nocera and Anne-Lise Caudal
Germany: Martina Eberl and Denise Charlotte Becker
Ireland: Rebecca Coakley and Martina Gillen
Italy: Giulia Sergas and Veronica Zorzi
Netherlands: Christel Boeljon and Marjet Van der Graaff
Norway: Lill Kristin Saether and Marianne Skarpnord
Russia: Maria Verchenova and Anastasia Kostina
Scotland: Lynn Kenny and Clare Queen
Slovakia: Zuzana Kamasova and Veronika Falathova (Am)
Sweden: Lotta Wahlin and Carin Koch
Switzerland: Florence Luscher and Frederique Seeholzer
USA: Beth Daniel and Meg Mallon
Wales: Becky Brewerton and Lydia Hall

Explanation of format:

Thursday 23rd April: Double better-ball (Fourball).
Friday 24th April: Double modality Valencian Cup (**)
Saturday 25th April: Double better-ball (Fourball).
Sunday 26th April: Double modality Valencian Cup (**)
** Valencian Cup: This new format is a variation on the Greensome Chapman System. In the normal Greensome Chapman System, both players tee off and then they switch balls. Player A plays Player Bs drive and vice versa. Usually, they would select the best second shot on every hole, and from that point until the ball is holed they would play one golf ball in alternate shot format. The difference with the Valencian Cup system is that this system only applies to the par fours.
For the par threes, alternative shots are played after the drives.
For the par fives, players will hit three shots each, switching balls each time, and will then select the best third shot before playing alternative shots with the same ball for the remainder of the hole.