Thai Country Club

This week sees the inaugural Aramco Team Series – Bangkok take place from May 12-14 at Thai Country Club where professionals will compete in a Team and Individual competition.

After four successful tournaments in 2021, the Aramco Team Series is back in 2022 with five events on the Ladies European Tour schedule beginning with the first in Bangkok.


Each team still consists of three professionals and one amateur, and the 26 Team Captains were chosen based on their Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings.

But this year the captains picked in reverse order with the 26th ranked Team Captain picking first. A third professional was assigned at random, while an amateur is also then assigned to each team to complete the lineup.

There has also been a slight tweak to the format with the Individual competition still being 54 holes, but the Team event will now be 36 holes.

Therefore, the players will play in their respective team for the first two days and the winners of the Team event will be decided at the conclusion of the second round.

After the second round, there will be a cut to the top 60 professionals and ties and the draw for the final round of the Individual competition on Saturday will be purely based on the professional leaderboard.

Prize Fund Breakdown

The tournament is still worth USD $1 million, but the prize fund is split between the two competitions with a prize pool of USD $500,000 for the Team competition and USD $500,000 for the Individual competition.

Who is playing?

This week there are 78 professionals teeing it up at Thai Country Club with five Thai players in the field including Major winners Patty Tavatanakit and Ariya Jutanugarn, two-time LPGA Tour winner Moriya Jutanugarn plus Chanoknan Angurasaranee and Chonlada Chayanun.

Order of Merit winners Trish Johnson, Charley Hull and Lee-Anne Pace are in attendance as is Major winner and two-time Solheim Cup winning captain Catriona Matthew, plus Solheim Cup players Anne Van Dam, Caroline Hedwall, Becky Brewerton, Florentyna Parker and Linda Wessberg.

Marianne Skarpnord, who won the Individual event at the 2021 Aramco Team Series – London, tees it up in the format once again while 2022 Madrid Ladies Open champion Ana Pelaez is here as is Argentina’s Magdalena Simmermacher, who is second in the 2022 Race to Costa del Sol.

See the full entry list here.