Getting to know Frida Gustafsson Spang

The 26-year-old Swede, who is a member of both the LET and LET Access Series, talks about golf, food and her spirit animal!

Tell us something we would never guess about you.

I bake a lot! I’m very good at baking and any time I’m home I make lots of cakes. I don’t eat everything, but I bake it! It helps me relax.

What is your most unusual talent?

I am very good at parallel parking.

How did you get into golf?

None of my family members play golf but we live right next to a golf course. My neighbour introduced me to the sport and I joined them one day and just got stuck.

Who is your favourite golfer?

Probably Jason Day, because I like watching him play and his attitude on the golf course. Also, his story is unique.

What’s your favourite club in your bag?

I love hitting nice drives, but I would say my wedges are my favourite, especially my 60.

What’s been your biggest golfing achievement of your career?

My biggest achievement would be winning six individual titles on the college tour. Also representing Sweden in the World Cup European Team Championship as an amateur. The day I teed off in my first professional tournament was very special. I had a top 10 on the LET, which I’m very happy about.

What’s your favourite golf course?

I would say Valderrama.

What is the one thing you could not live without?

My family and friends, but a tangible item would be my phone! It’s so sad but when you’re travelling you need to call home.

What is your favourite food?

I eat everything but I love pasta. In the summer, I love a good salad with a lot of cheese, nuts and quinoa, chicken or fish and maybe strawberries.

Who do you most look up to?

My mum, my dad and my brother, because they always have my back and have helped me get to where I am today and I trust them.

How would you spend your perfect day?

My perfect day would be waking up early, because I’m an early bird, then going for a run or a light workout and having a big breakfast at the sea, with everything from eggs to juice and then I would play a round of golf, come back, relax and then go out for a nice dinner with friends and family.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Ice cream: I eat a lot and it’s my favourite sweet.

Describe yourself in one word?


What would be your spirit animal, and why?

I would say a leopard, because it’s independent and I am very independent. It’s confident and I’m confident with myself and a little bit mysterious!

What do you like doing besides playing golf?

I love being with my friends and working out. I also love travelling and always try to explore the places we go to on tour to see different cultures and what is different about every place.

If you could travel anywhere where would you go?

I want to go to Mauritius and Italy, to see more than I have already.

What’s your favourite karaoke song?

‘Simply the Best’, by Tina Turner. I sing a lot!

Whom would you most like to sit next to on a plane?

I would say Michele Obama. That would be a good conversation.

What is your most memorable sporting moment?

I think when I represented Sweden in the European Team Championships, competing as a team, together, will always be a great memory.

What’s your best golfing tip for a beginner?

Use your upper body and rotate: use the big muscles.

Do you have any superstitions before a round?

I honestly don’t. I try to avoid playing on red tees.

What’s in your golf bag besides golf balls and clubs?

There’s usually a lot of snacks, nuts, bars and a Vitamin Well beverage, as well as rain clothes and an extra hat and gloves.

What are your goals for 2019?

I want to play good, solid golf and improve. I have a lot that I’m trying to improve and to stick to the process. My overall goal is to keep my LET card, make a top 10 and win once on the LET Access Series.