Daphne van Houten and Rasmus Lia were crowned G4D (Golf For Disabled) Skaftö Open Champions in Sweden on Sunday, as the duo put on a strong showing over the weekend to claim a 17 shot victory.

The competition, organised by Skaftö Open, EDGA and the LET, was played in a 36-hole mixed team format over Saturday and Sunday at the same time Linn Grant was making her moves towards victory on the LET on the same course – the same time the two organisations have competed simultaneously for trophies in history.

Lia and van Houten were in a strong position heading into the final day, having held a ten-shot advantage from Saturday’s round, where local talent Lia finished strongly to finish the day in 69 shots – shooting two under in his final five holes to seal the deal.

Van Houten said: “Winning the G4D Skaftö Open felt amazing, especially on such a big stage surrounded by great players.

“The LET and Skaftö Open giving us a stage to play the game we love is a dream come true. Being able to spend time with my ‘second’ family, the EDGA players, is always something I look forward to. Seeing their progression and how well they can play golf is forever an inspiration to me.

“I hope we inspire people to see that they can achieve anything in life, despite any disability they may have.”

Van Houten also played well to shoot 70 on day one, and followed that up with 74 on day two as Lia shot 72, leaving them on 285 for the team throughout the 36 holes, with the pairing of Mette Wegge Lynggaard (73+71) and Joakim Björkman (80+78) their nearest challengers on 302.

Jennifer Sräga from Germany shot 78 and 84 in her two rounds to sign for a combined score of 162, while her playing partner Felix Norrman carded rounds of 71 and 75 to get round in 146 for the two days, leaving them on 308 in total.

Finally, Aimi Bullock and Marcus Malo combined for a total of 317 in Sweden over the weekend, with England’s Bullock carding rounds of 77 and 79, while Gothenburg native Malo fired rounds of 80 and 81.

G4D Skaftö Open Result

1. Daphne van Houten 70+74=144

Rasmus Lia 69+72=141

Total 285

2. Mette Wegge Lynggaard 73+71=144

Joakim Björkman 80+78=158

Total 302

3. Jennifer Sräga 78+84=162

Felix Norman 71+75=146

Total 308

4. Aimi Bullock 77+79=156

Marcus Malo 81+80=161

Total 317