The European Solheim Cup Team after the victory

Last Sunday 10th November marked the announcement of the 2013 Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswomen of the Year Awards shortlist and women’s professional golf is present in two of the total of six categories. Charley Hull and the Solheim Cup Team appear in the big group of names in the Sport and top Athletes in the UK.  This year we will also have an opportunity to vote for our favourite female sports team from the past 11 months.

The Awards celebrate the outstanding contribution to sport made by elite performers, coaches, administrators, community volunteers and inspirational female figures – and 2013 promises to be the most spectacular in the event’s 26-year history. On the evening of Thursday, December 5, for the first time, the Awards will be broadcast live by Sky and the winners of five categories will be chosen by their selected panel of judges, and announced at the live award show.

Charley Hull with Annika Sorenstam during the event

Our teen sensation and one of the heroines of the Solheim Cup this year in Colorado, Charley Hull, is already shortlisted in the category Young Sportswoman of the Year (21 years or younger) together with Dina Asher-Smith, Becky James and Katarina Johnson-Thompson.

But this is not the only recognition of women’s professional golf and our achievements this year. Our European Solheim Cup Team has been also nominated for Team of the Year. This year, in this category there is the chance to have our say. We all can vote for the favourite female sports team before midnight on November 25, 2013. The European Solheim Cup Team will be battling with other candidates such as the England cricket team, England netball team and Great Britain’s team pursuit cycling squad.

Find here the form to vote for your favourite Team:

The awards are supported by the Sport and Recreation Alliance, UK Sport, Sport England and the Women’s Sport and Fitness Foundation.

We wish the best of luck to Charlie and the European Solheim Cup Team! And we hope to hear your names the 5th December at the Ceremony.